Did someone say…STEAMPUNK???

…among other things…

…namely the fact that the bottom has dropped out of the temperature and looks like it’s going to stay there for the foreseeable future.

 

coulson-notmydivision
Phil Coulson is not impressed

ANYHOW.

So the other week as I was working on the novel, I came to the realization that it is set in the Steampunk age of this world. It was the fact that a character mentioned an airship that clued me in. And I squeed.

 

steampunk-blimp-pictures-1a
Airship love.

Isn’t that beautiful? *sighs*

As the writing went on, the vision of this glorious, bright, bustling, steampunk harbor city popped into my head and I got all excited until I realized that there’s only a small glimpse of it in the novel. <cricket noises> So I whined to a friend of mine and she just laughed and told me to use it in the sequel. Except that this novel won’t have a sequel. And besides, I wanna play in that city now.

You can see where this is heading, right?

So I was procrastinating researching on Pinterest (I see you looking at me that way. Stop it.) for images of “steampunk city” and this gem popped up:

https://www.pinterest.com/pin/303218987386684718/

I took one look at it and then a (short) story idea, complete with characters, went on to map itself out for me. And it’s set in this city I want to play in. But here’s the kicker: it’s set in the criminal underbelly. So at the end of the novel, you will have a glimpse of the bright surface. But in the short you’ll see what lies beneath. The narrow streets, the dark warrens, the thieves and cutthroats. And I get the feeling it’s going to be dark and bloody. And the characters are pretty cynical, but not without loyalty.

And I love it already.

THERE ARE NOT ENOUGH HOURS IN THE DAY DAMMIT.

Ahem.

On that note, I’m outta here.

À tantôt!

p.s. currently addicted to “Iris” by the GooGoo Dolls. Enjoy.

 

Leave a Reply

